Shadow Of The Colossus Heavy Metal Symphonic Tribute Album Is Available Right Now
Battle With The Colossus

Materia Collective announced that guitarist Ferdk has a new album available, which is a symphonic rock tribute to the PlayStation classic, Shadow of the Colossus. The new 11-track album is titled Battle of the Colossus, and it takes many of the game’s battle themes and gives them a hardcore metal makeover.

Ferdk explained that he was aiming to combine the beauty of the game’s story with the breathtaking battles of the colossi, fusing those two notions together with a healthy layer of metal on top, saying…

“Battle with the Colossus embodies the duality of conflict versus beauty. Guitar riffs challenge the beasts. Orchestral melodies capture their majesty. I vividly remember encountering the very first colossus, way back in 2005. I was in awe, I hadn’t seen something like this in gaming before. I found myself climbing this huge beast as the score charged into a triumphant orchestral epic, a one-of-a-kind experience. The soundtrack to this game is almost like a character of its own. It defines the experience just as much as the art direction and gameplay. It’s truly a masterpiece of a game just as much as the art direction and gameplay. It’s truly a masterpiece of a game and one of my all-time favorites, so I’m pleased to be able to release my tribute to the game and its soundtrack.”

You can actually snag a listen to the soundtrack courtesy of Ferdk’s Bandcamp page, where some of the tracks are available for your perusal.

The album contains 11 different songs, as listed below:

  1. Revived Power 02:56
  2. The Opened Way 02:56
  3. In Awe of the Power 02:07
  4. A Messenger From Behind 02:41
  5. A Violent Encounter 02:36
  6. Liberated Guardians 02:04
  7. Gatekeeper of the Castle Ruins 02:55
  8. A Despair-filled Farewell 02:10
  9. Counterattack 02:50
  10. Final Battle 01:51
  11. The Farthest Land 03:17

Battle With The Colossus Album

The album feels like a remastered take on old-school battle music from JRPGs. A lot of gamers will likely feel right at home with Ferdk’s tribute to one of the greatest adventure games ever made. I can’t say that any of the songs stood out in a way that completely separated them from the source material, but it definitely feels like a metal-themed homage to Kow Otani’s work.

You can get your hands on the album from a number of different places, including BandCamp, Pandora, Spotify, Napster, Amazon and iTunes to name but a few.

The album is available right now for $7.99, and you can learn more about it by visiting the official Materia Collective website.


Billy has been rustling Jimmies for years covering video games, technology and digital trends within the electronics entertainment space. The GJP cried and their tears became his milkshake. Need to get in touch? Try the Contact Page.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!